Nature’s Light Show

I know, I know, I have promised you a Part II of my bar crawl around Singapore: it’s coming, I promise! As usual I’ve spent most of my time either in the air, exploring, or recovering from jet lag (& hangovers)…squeeze in trying to catch up with friends and, you know, showering, and I just haven’t got round to finishing it off just yet.

ANYWAY, the bright lights of Marina Bay Sands are nothing compared to what I witnessed on my last flight.

I was just going about my business (aka making myself ANOTHER cup of tea to get me through the flight to Seoul), when a rather excited pilot appeared, summoning me towards the window.

You guessed it…we could see the Northern Lights.

16809319_10154163669330988_1072670437_n

I know plenty of people travel specifically to see the Northern Lights, but I have to admit, it hadn’t ever been top of my Bucket List. How wrong I was. The show was absolutely unbelievable.

The Flight Deck took on a decadent hue, and for a moment, as I watched the emerald lights dance ahead, leading our way across the darkness and dulling the electronic lights of the aircraft, I completely lost any sense of time or place.

I’ve done a bit of research into (read: quickly Googled) how and why the NL appear, and this is the best explanation I could find for the scientifically-slow, like myself:

The mesmeric lights are formed from fast-moving, electrically charged particles that emanate from the sun. These are driven towards the Poles by the Earth’s magnetic field and their varying colours are a result of the different gases in the upper atmosphere.

The Telegraph, 17 October 2016

16809944_10154163669410988_1298242592_n

Anyway, I thought I’d share my rather blurry photographs with you. These imagines in no way do the Northern Lights any justice; seeing them was not only spectacular in a visual sense, but it really made me feel very small and irrelevant, as well as incredibly lucky.

16831562_10154163669440988_1742821686_n16830336_10154163669375988_2144453479_n

It just goes to show that no matter how well planned out your adventure is, it’s the unexpected twists that are the most memorable!

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

