In Pictures: Sheikh Zayed Grand Mosque

on

I was just having a little sort out of the photos on my phone; is anyone else’s constantly telling them that they a) have not backed up for 3495 days, and b) are rapidly running out of storage space?! Grrrr…

This task, which I had optimistically hoped to cross off my to-do list by lunchtime, inevitable ended up taking several hours (it’s currently 15:20). However, on the bright side, I ended up rediscovering my huge backlog of photos from my travels, and indulging in a little nostalgia for all of the places I’ve visited – and the people I’ve met – since Christmas.

Being a Flight Attendant is such a bizarre way to live your life. I feel as though I’m constantly missing out on birthday parties and nights out at home, only to spend these evenings in a foreign country, with people I’ve met not 10 hours previously. It can seem lonely at times – what’s the point of having the world at your feet if you’ve not got someone you love with you to share it all? Looking back at these photos, though has made me realise how lucky I am to have such freedom to do as I please, and to have met such crazy, likeminded people…people who will go to a rodeo bar with you on a Tuesday, because you’re in Texas for 24 hours, and why not?!

ANYWAY, enough of the gooey stuff.

By far some of the most stunning photographs I stumbled upon this afternoon are those I took at the Sheikh Zayed Grand Mosque in Abu Dhabi. The mosque is one of the few in the region open to non-Muslims (except during prayer time; as this changes daily, be sure to check online before your visit).

I won’t even attempt to describe how stunning and serene this was, as there is simply no way that words can do it justice.

If you ever find yourself in this corner of the world, please take an afternoon to wander around this beautiful place, you will not regret it. I would recommend arriving about an hour before sunset, so that you are able to see the mosque in the daylight as well as during dusk.

We didn’t even do the guided tour that was available, choosing instead to quietly walk around the columns and admire the architecture. The feeling of peace I felt during my visit was truly remarkable.

Make sure that you dress conservatively – there are abayas available to borrow if you wish –  you must be covered to your wrists and ankles, and women are advised to wear a headscarf, as your hair must not be visible.

I hope my photographs go some way to showing you just how beautiful the Sheikh Zayed Grand Mosque is – but please go and see it for yourself.

IMG_3660IMG_3657IMG_3651IMG_3620IMG_3618IMG_3617IMG_3609

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Choi says:

    I was amazed by the beauty of this mosque when I was there earlier in the year. truely a kick ass moment.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. jandudy says:

    Beautiful pictures!

    Like

Leave a Reply

